Skip to main content

Carol Anne Willgress

My business is called 'Starfish Childcare' and I work with an assistant in a large log cabin in our garden. We care for up to twelve children in two rooms and the children are able to choose what they want to do. I always follow children’s interests and because of the small group I am  able to provide spontaneous activities if the children request them.


I live in a central position in Bromham, next to the playing fields - a vast open space for the children to explore and play safely. We are also very close to the shops and the swing park where children can meet up with their friends after school.

Children are encouraged to take ownership of 'Starfish'. They have written a review of the 'house rules' and write a termly newsletter for parents out-lining the projects we have undertaken- for instance following a discussion at the meal table the children decided they wanted to save loose change to buy something for children who aren't as fortunate as they are. The children make 'Starfish' a unique setting- they support each other and make decisions about projects they can undertake. I take on a listening and advisory role, encouraging the children to think of others as well as themselves. We have lively discussions on issues that are important to them, and all views are respected an valued.

Children are given time to chill out with books and a snuggle blanket. Children are also able to complete their school home-work, reading, spelling and research for projects using books and the internet. We make regular visits to Bromham library so the children can choose their own books. The children enjoy sharing books together and use books to find out about things they see around them e.g. insects, birds and flowers.

Meal times are important at 'Starfish'- as well as talking about how we nourish our bodies the children take turns to serve each other, and practise social skills. We celebrate with food - for a birthday party, a picnic, or a barbeque, as I believe sitting together and sharing food is an important part of a tolerant society.

I am a qualified, mature teacher of young children, and have recently obtained further qualifications in children's care, learning and development to update my knowledge. I loved teaching young children but I have found a far more important role in caring for the children - the whole child, and aim to meet all their needs.

"The reason I really like it here is because it's more like home and if something happened at school I could sit on the sofa and relax" Emily, aged 8.

Who to contact

Contact Name
Carol Anne Willgress
Contact Position
Childminder
Telephone
E-mail
carolwillgress@hotmail.co.uk

Where to go

Name
Carol Anne Willgress
Address
17, Molivers Lane
Bromham
Bedford
Postcode
MK43 8JT
Get directions

Other Details

Availability

Referral required
No
Age Bands
0-4 years old
5-10 years old